Item added to your cart.

Amnesiac Reworks Vol. 1
Echo Collective
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 25, 2019

Echo Collective, the neo-classical collective from Brussels, known for the collaborations with the late Johann Johannsson, Dustin O’Halloran, A Winged Victory For The Sullen, Erasure, and many other artists from the contemporary and pop scenes, present the release of “Amnesiac Reworks Vol.1”: a series of reworks of music from their debut album, “Echo Collective Plays Amnesiac”, released in 2018 on 7K!.

For this first volume of reworks, the songs are in the hands of the Mercury Prize nominated artist Maps, the avantgarde Brussels-based ambient composer Christina Vantzou, and PROPE: the veteran producers from Belgium who have worked with everyone from Royksopp to Groove Armada.

They all take Echo Collective’s classical arrangements of Radiohead’s music into a different sonic spectrum. Maps skillfully blends electronic and rock in his rework of Packt Like Sardines In A Crushed Tin Box, while Christina Vantzou delivers an expansive and fascinating reinterpretation of Morning Bell / Amnesiac. PROPE rounds off the EP with a heavy nod to the dancefloor in their propulsive rework of Pyramid Song.

The members of Echo Collective are very excited that their friends and collaborators James Chapman (MAPS), Christina Vantzou, and Pierre Dozin are part of this new chapter, having collaborated on their projects in the past.

Echo Collective featured on Christina Vantzou’s latest album n. 4 (Kranky). Pierre Dozin, one half of PROPE, mixed the Echo Collective plays Amnesiac album, while Echo Collective’s Margaret Hermant and Neil Leiter feature on PROPE’s latest EP VOID (OGASM). Echo Collective is actively collaborating with MAPS, set to release on his long-time label MUTE.

Echo Collective continue their Echo Collective Plays ‘Amnesiac’ tour throughout Europe, including a show in the prestigious Royal Albert Hall. They will also perform with Christina Vantzou in Brussels on the 8th February, as well as join world-renowned pianist Joep Beving on both his upcoming Deutsche Grammophon release and his newly announced live shows.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Packt Like Sardines in a Crushed Tin Box (Maps Rework) 5:59 Buy

    Packt Like Sardines in a Crushed Tin Box (Maps Rework)

  2. 2 Morning Bell (Christina Vantzou Rework) 4:08 Buy

    Morning Bell (Christina Vantzou Rework)

  3. 3 Pyramid Song (PROPE Rework) 6:56 Buy

    Pyramid Song (PROPE Rework)

Echo Collective

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences